“Simply beautiful … full of acoustic grandness” Maverick
“A fine new voice in an honourable British tradition of folk-based singer-songwriters” R2
“With Rocks of Bawn he brings folk music to life with stunning form” Artree
“A welcome and sensitive breath of fresh folk air from London's answer to Sam Amidon” Sam Lee
“The EP contains remarkable depth and gravity for just five tracks, that also manage to be so easy on the ear” Bright Young Folk

Josh Geffin is a London-based singer-songwriter whose tender, poetic lyrics and striking fingerstyle guitar playing mark him out as a distinctive voice in the UK folk scene. His new EP of traditional folk songs, Rocks Of Bawn, is out now. 

Born in London and grew up in Dorset, he started writing songs aged 14, recording them on his father’s dusty 4-track cassette machine. He studied music at Dartington College of Arts in Devon where he was introduced to experimental composition and went on to support acclaimed Icelandic band Amiina on tour. His self-titled album was co-produced with Sonny Johns (Portico Quartet, Oumou Sangare) and he has since collaborated with his brother Danny as Geffin Brothers, and with Chris White (Van Morrison) for improvised ambient project GeffinWhite. He has performed at The Southbank Centre, End Of The Road festival and on BBC6 Music. In 2016, he played the role of Troubadour in the exhibition Ragnar Kjartansson at the Barbican Art Gallery (read his blog about it here). He is also running a folk guitar course with the Trad Academy

Rocks Of Bawn is a collection of traditional folk songs influenced by his work as an audio editor with The Song Collectors Collective, which was founded by Mercury-nominated folk singer Sam Lee. The EP offers new readings of ageless folk songs reimagined through contemporary arrangements and instrumentation. Josh says: “I love the process of coming across a beautiful unaccompanied traditional melody and creating a new harmony and accompaniment and seeing where the song takes the music.” Also playing on the record are Andy Hamill (Eska) on upright bass, Quinta (Philip Selway) on viola, Nathaniel Keen (Andreya Triana) on electric guitar, Victoria Hume (Lost Map Records) on backing vocals, and Chance Kellner (Trad Academy) on fiddle. Mixed by Les Mommsen (The Leisure Society) and with photography by Yev Kazannik (Metronomy), the EP was launched in July 2016 with New Roots and on The Nest Collective Hour on Resonance FM. Rocks Of Bawn is available now from the music page and most digital stores.

Cover by Yev Kazannik Photography